Ollie the Vanagon

A girl and her new old van. This is the story.

Second day, Second Leg: Oregon to California

 

This was my view when I awoke: 

Eastern Oregon is pretty vast and desolate.  Last night, I was getting a little low on gas, and my GPS said there was a fuel station along the way, but the location turned out to be an empty field.  What gives, TomTom?  So I had to backtrack about 20 miles to the previous town.  I’m glad I did, as I would’ve been out of luck for another 70 miles.

I woke up early, and spent some quality time cleaning and arranging things in Ollie, as I wanted to have everything at the ready whenever I stopped.  Chaos and clutter are your enemies in such small quarters. Then it was time for  tea:

Ahhh… preparations for the first cup of tea.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I was on the road again, through Bend, Crater Lake, down through Grants Pass, and into California.  Got on Hwy 101, also known as the Redwood Highway.

No time to write about it all, but I have pictures. Gallery highlights: Northern California redwoods, redwoods, redwoods!  First view of the Pacific Ocean.

 

I got a later start than I had wanted to, so I drove until I couldn’t anymore, stopped at a roadside turnout near Willits, California, set my alarm for 3:30am, woke up, made tea & breakfast, and started driving again to Santa Cruz.  Ollie has to make his 9:00am appointment at Van Café!  More tomorrow!

25 June 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment